Public Land Where You Can Camp and Hunt at the Same Time?

MountainMan300

I'm located in East Tennessee, and I love backcountry camping- but I'm relatively new to hunting. I've hunted off and on since 2017, but 2023 was the first year I went regularly, and as such, I am still familiarizing myself with some regulations and practices.

I would love to spend a few weekends every year camping in the backcountry and hunting while I'm out there. I know that most WMA's don't permit camping, but from what I can tell, it's allowed at Big South Fork and North Cumberland WMA (please correct me if I' wrong about that).

Am I correct that I would be able to camp and hunt at those two locations, and are there any other places in Tennessee where it's allowed?

Tenntrapper

I'm located in East Tennessee, and I love backcountry camping- but I'm relatively new to hunting. I've hunted off and on since 2017, but 2023 was the first year I went regularly, and as such, I am still familiarizing myself with some regulations and practices.

I would love to spend a few weekends every year camping in the backcountry and hunting while I'm out there. I know that most WMA's don't permit camping, but from what I can tell, it's allowed at Big South Fork and North Cumberland WMA (please correct me if I' wrong about that).

Am I correct that I would be able to camp and hunt at those two locations, and are there any other places in Tennessee where it's allowed?
I'm surprised no one has mentioned this.
On undeveloped TVA public access land, you can camp and hunt. Just please clean up after yourself. I hunt some property where some Kentucky guys camp every year. It's a mess....a nasty mess!!!

PillsburyDoughboy

are they allowing camping inside of the area now? the campgrounds used to be on the perimeter of the area, and no entry until an hour before dawn or something like that.
Ive hunted and camped on Catoosa many times and never had any problems. But its been years ago.