Deer Management Tips

godores

Hi all,

I've been hunting for about 7 or 8 years, with 5 of it being on my own land. I have 53 acres (basically a year round creek and then a big rocky top hill) that is on the Hickman/Maury border. Hunting was good the first 3 years, with us taking 2-3 does and 1 buck per season. The last 2 years, I haven't even seen a deer. The strange thing is that we don't go there near as much anymore, so I was hoping that less pressure would mean more deer.

I'm pretty new at this, but it's very discouraging getting skunked for 2 years in a row, and not even seeing does for that matter. We don't really do anything to attract them, and soil doesn't allow for food plots. Any tips or ideas for how to bring deer back to the land? Any resources that have been particularly helpful? Or is this just the way it goes and I should just tough it out and they'll come back someday?

Thanks

Crappieaddict

IMO, food, water, and shelter. I'm working on the same thing...had my property for just over a year. The soil is mostly sand, but lime and fertilizer produced a small, but lush plot. I buy the 50lb bags of Trace Minerals from RK, and have made a couple of salt licks. Last year I took a doe and got an 8 point last week. I may not hunt it again this year. There are deer, but not huge numbers. I've already passed on a few, and that's not easy. I also contacted the Soil Conservation Dept, and the guy has already been out a few times. He's going to file for some grants for food plots in what has been determined to be Wetland, as well as selective tree cutting. There were no grants remaining for 2020 when I contacted him, so he'll file in 2021. I'm excited about these projects as I've never got anything from the Government! I've always just been a payer. This must be how the Democrats feel!

Last edited:

DoubleRidge