Safety zone question

Wolverine72

Tonight I was stopped hunting by a very respectful TWRA agent.
He told me I am not able to park in a safety zone and walk into the hunting zone to hunt. Areas on the TWRA map designated green (huntable) and red (non-huntable).
I parked at a boat ramp, in the red zone, and walked to the huntable land about 1/3 mile in the woods. The safety zone goes about 100 yards into the woods.

Can someone point me in the right direction in the twra hunting guidelines to show me this is true? I've been parking and hunting this area for over 10 years and I can't see how what the officer told me is correct. I hate it if I've been wrong all this time.
Thanks

HottyToddy

I can't point you to a spot in the regs, but I called TWRA about 2 weeks ago to ask this same question. They, without hesitation, told me you cannot walk into the huntable zones from the safety zones - for the reason that no weapons for hunting are allowed in the safety zones. I then asked, if no weapons are allowed at the boat ramp how do you use the boat ramp to access other parts of the wma? He said if they're concealed in your boat, they're fine. They just can't be visible. I didn't take it any further, as he wasn't very friendly, but I'm curious if you were to case your weapon and carry the cased weapon through the woods if that would be considered "concealed".

Wolverine72

Very interesting. I'm so flustered about this. Having hunted there for 10 years it's just got me a little frazzled.
A buddy and I are going to go to our region office next week to discuss further. I'll post our results. And I ask about having the weapon in a "concealed" case
I too access certain areas by boat with a friend. It's kind of funny you mention that as I was thinking the same thing. But you still have to load the weapon into the boat at some point.