Best tree stand setup for a property

HottyToddy

Just secured a lease, and I'll need to start acquiring stands to set up. I can't decide which route to go:
2 or 3 ladder stands for ~$200/ea
4 or 5 hang ons for ~$75/ea with one set of sticks I move between
1 climber and maybe a ladder stand

I have VERY little tree stand experience, so don't really know which direction to head. I've only ever been in a ladder stand, and I liked how secure and comfortable it was, but they're expensive and annoying to move. Climbers kind of scare me as they seem pretty unstable.

The lease is about 2,900 acres, so plenty of room to spread out. Just don't know what the best bang for my buck will be.

Thanks!

Omega

If it was me...and it was not but a few months ago, I would get ladder stands vs lock-ons. They are a bit more secure than lock-ons, IMO, and while the straps are important, they don't take as much stress as the lock-on straps/chain/cable. Also, you don't have to worry about having to move the sticks around if you decide to move during your hunt.

Climbers have come a long way, once you get used to them, they are pretty safe (use the harness!!) and the good thing is that you can get a decent one for less than all the ladders and lock-ons you would need to cover the area.

JeepKuntry

Just my opinion but a quality ladder stand will be far more comfortable for long sits over the lock on. I would get a climber for mobility. Then try to find ladder stands to setup on field edges, food plots, edges of thickets.

Snake

locon and lightweight climbing sticks. hate ladders. too visible and way too heavy to move around
You can set up ladder stand were it's not as visible if you keep that in mind . Putting stands in trees that had multiple trunks helps but I will agree that they are more visible and more difficult to move but IMO more comfortable.

Omega

locon and lightweight climbing sticks. hate ladders. too visible and way too heavy to move around