Reloading question

reloadxx

2-Step Enabled
I'm still new to reloading so don't beat up in me to bad for silly questions. I got a new savage 7mm08 I had some old brass from my remmy model 7. Ok so I reload some ammo for testing loads and when I went to load them into the gun the bolt is hard to push down and pull back up? So I thought I had the bullets pulled out to far so I tried to load just brass with no bullet and still hard. So is this normal since the brass was fired from a different gun? Brass was trimmed ,and sized. I did not shoot my test loads because I was afraid to mess something up.

Sent from my SM-G930R4 using Tapatalk

DaveB

Chambers have different sizes.

I know it sounds crazy, but there is no rule that says a Remington 7mm08 has the same chamber dimensions as a Savage 7mm08.

You need to full length size the brass. What worked in the old will then work in the new.

BTW, I have two 7mm08, two 223, and 2 300 WinMag rifles. I have different dies for each rifle....and different stacks of brass and even their own bullets and powders.

reloadxx

2-Step Enabled
Yes I have full length die they are brand new die I bought them just to reloading for this gun. As for is the die set up correctly yes I set it up the same way I did for my 223,243 and they worked out great. I will double check the length of the brass again to make sure

mr.big

you need to adjust the FL sizer down about 1/8th turn and size a couple pieces of brass and see if the will chamber correctly,if not turn size die down about 1/8th turn and size a couple pieces ofbrass and see if they chamber correctly,,if not repeat,,etc etc