Interesting article on lead vs TSS

scn

TSS is awesome. I will have it in my gun when I hit the woods this spring.

But, as the article says, if you limit your shots to ethical distances and don't want to pay $10-12/shell, there are lead loads out there that will continue to work. Some of the TSS cult crew make it sound like it is impossible to kill a turkey without their magic bullet. That flies in the face of decades of ethical turkey hunting.

TNlandowner

I've been shooting a 20 gauge for turkey since 2018. I've taken turkey each season using Federal Premium, Mag-Shok Heavyweight Turkey #7, 2 3/4", 1 1/8oz, 1100FPS. I keep the ranges inside 40 yards, which dirt-rolls the birds. The best part is these shells have very mild recoil out of a Rem 870.

Federal stopped making these shells. Fortunately, I bought two cases of shells and still have plenty.

TheLBLman

One advantage of TSS is it can allow you to use a more open choke (fewer misses at close range), as well as shoot a reduced payload (much less recoil).
I've been shooting a 20 gauge for turkey since 2018. I've taken turkey each season using Federal Premium, Mag-Shok Heavyweight Turkey #7, 2 3/4", 1 1/8oz, 1100FPS. I keep the ranges inside 40 yards, which dirt-rolls the birds. The best part is these shells have very mild recoil out of a Rem 870.
I also still have 2 or 3 of these left. They are great turkey loads, and very ideal of youth hunters.
However, today's TSS is incredibly even denser, and you can go down to TSS #9 to out-perform those older heavyweight #7's (which were much better than the Hevi-13 stuff).

But truth remains, it may matter very little what shells you're shooting at @ 35 yds and less. Regular ole "dove" loads will consistently kill turkeys at up to 30 yds with a standard full choke.