Hinge shooting tips

TNDeerGuy

Before I go further, I am a noob at hinge shooting--this is the first time I'm really committed to it. I have tried it twice before years ago, but was never even 50% committed to it, nor did I fully trust it and I believe both reasons worked against each other and fed each other and was the reason behind my failure. What I am going to share is from my personal experience and from what I've learned from many people I've talked to. Hopefully others with more experience shooting a hinge will chime in.

What helped me more than anything was shooting a "trainer" for 6 months before I ever even hooked into a bow. It helped me get used to the feel and operation of the hinge and what I could and couldn't do during the shot process and I still play with it all the time--it helps a ton from my experience. A picture of my trainer is attached. I chose a piece of rope because with the style of bow I shoot a rope simulates the feel of the backwall I'm used to. If I was shooting a bow that had a soft backwall, I would use a bungee cord to give you that spongy feel.

Once I decided to go live with it in mid-Dec, I did all of my shooting at 3yds in front of a bag. Even though I used a trainer, it was different on a bow--not dramatically different, but still different. I stayed at 3yds for a week or so and then moved back to 10yds. I really wasn't focused as much on aiming as I was executing a clean shot. A few weeks ago, I moved back to 20yds and further as I was confident in my ability. I still am focusing more on shot execution than hitting a quarter at 30yds but I'm confident enough to be competitive and at least have fun. :)