For the Missouri hunters

RUGER

2-Step Enabled
@tickweed made a comment in another thread that made me wonder this.

Obviously there will be no back water this year, or at the very least there won't be any until VERY late in the season.
Being our first year to have a pit in the bootheel and the close proximity to the big muddy, I was just thinking the drought conditions have got to be a good thing for us, since we (along with 99% of the pits in the bootheel) will have water.

I know it has been a very long time since the river has been close to this low but just wondering what everyone's thoughts were about this?

Displaced_Vol

My .02 is it's a blessing and a curse. At first, the only water around may be a great thing but the birds wise up pretty quick and either go nocturnal or leave. If we don't get any more water, the overall area will have fewer ducks IMO so after you educate the ones you got it may be tough going.
I could be very wrong Ruger I'm no pro at this but that seems to be the way it goes in our part of the world that is backwater dependent for 90% of the hunting holes.

Displaced_Vol

Then too much water and they're spread all over creation. There could be 10k ducks in an area and you'd think it was empty.

TNGunsmoke

2-Step Enabled