What do you do when...

Nsghunter

I'm a amateur by a long shot I have less than ten hunting trips under my belt so all help is appreciated. Since taking my son out I had some questions.

We seen alot of sign first thing. Tracks and a single set of droppings within the first 30 minutes. It was his first hunt and he was really excited. We waited at the edge of a field under decent cover for around an hour with the son rising to our backs. We kept our eyes peeled and I glassed the rough stuff on the edges of the woods every fifteen minutes or so for movement.after the son rose we backed into the woods, so we would stay out of sight and moved around the edges of the field to a better vantage point.

My son continuously found sign. It seemed like the presence of multiple small to medium deer. I'm guess here but we seen multiple sizes of tracks and droppings of different sizes shapes in ares cropped together. At one point it seemed like we seen around four different size tracks and droppings in inthe same area.

We resurfaced on the other side of the field and stayed in the shadows. We moved into the rough stuff and looked for a few minutes and found a place where a buck had rubbed on a tree. I ink this is called a rub? ? I wish I would've taken a picture so I could have asked. Next I began to look for more of these rubs in the area, I was once told it was called a rub line?? And to follow this yo pattern a buck???

We found four of these rubs that were on the same size tree and about the same distance off the ground. Finally we found fresh appearing drippings and tracks that were not froze so I thought they were fresh.