Public land hunting methods

rmmonty32

Do you sit...still hunt or both...i find myself doing a little of both. I usually sit near good sign ie scat and scrapes mornings and evenings usually 2hrs is all i can stand it b4 im up. Opinions...lessons??? Im no expert by any means.

Sent from my SM-S327VL using Tapatalk

Buzzard Breath

Sit, sit, and when you think you're about to get up and move around, sit even longer. Let all the other guys who can't stand to sit drive all the deer to you.

A good comfortable chair is a must. Hunters won't think twice about spending $300 on a treestand, but can't stand to spend more than $15 on a chair. I use a Helinox Zero chair. It folds down to the size of a water bottle and weighs 1 pound.

87376da900a55d56cd02f2901e525b77.jpg

Bring lots of snacks. Repackage them in quiet ziploc bags. Most food wrappers can be noisy as he11 in the woods.

Sit all day and pee downwind of where you're sitting. You don't want to have to smell it all day.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

catman529

Both... usually setting up in a tree for morning or evening sits, and doing a little mid day scouting. when it's wet or windy I like to stillhunt my way into a spot and sit down occasionally.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

catman529

Buzzard Breath":12f1uhf7 said:
Sit, sit, and when you think you're about to get up and move around, sit even longer. Let all the other guys who can't stand to sit drive all the deer to you.
the way I hunt I try to get away from other people so there's not much chance someone's pushing a deer to me. I sit as long as I feel like whether it's 2 hours or 6 hours. Rarely sit all day, and when I do it's usually in a bedding area during the rut.

rmmonty32

catman529":2dakreqr said:
Both... usually setting up in a tree for morning or evening sits, and doing a little mid day scouting. when it's wet or windy I like to stillhunt my way into a spot and sit down occasionally.