Passive vs aggressive hunting

fairchaser

I've always been more of a passive hunter. I try to be a hole in the woods. No scent, no sound, full camo, high in the tree, quiet as can be.

If I grunt or rattle, it's usually as a last resort when a buck is leaving.

I know a couple other hunters who will constantly rattle and grunt aggressively and use lots of doe in estrus. At times, they are very successful. They will shun the stand and slip thru the woods and kill nice bucks from the ground.

What's your method and why?

Last edited:

Crappieaddict

I lack patience, which is a lifelong fault. I can only sit in a stand for a couple of hours if there is no action. I would much prefer to stalk/still hunt, but admittedly, I'm not very good at it. After sitting over my less than stellar food plot Saturday morning, I have decided to mix it up for the rest of the season. I'm getting a little old, but the Climber is going back in the rotation as well as ground hunting. I may fail, but my enjoyment should increase.

Ski

Both for me. There's a time & place for everything, IMO. Much depends on where I'm hunting, what time of season, and the vibe I'm getting while there.

Both early and late seasons I sit still & quiet as a mouse and just watch. If late season with gun I sit where I've got a clear view of bedding or food that I can shoot into. If early archery & I have to be within bow range, then I'll move my stand every day or every sit until I've tightened the noose around the buck's movements that I am close enough for a shot. But it's still just a waiting game.