Hornady SST Performance on Game

UTGrad

I started shooting factory Hornady Superperformance out of my 308 with the 150 grain SST. I haven't taken any game yet with this ammo and wanted to get feedback on the Hornady SST's performance on deer. Any reviews on the SST bullet?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

EastTNHunter

2-Step Enabled
Based on what I've heard, it should be very similar to ballistic tips: devastating broadside DRT performance, but don't expect a consistent exit wound, and realize that it may have some limitations on hard quartering shots on bigger animals

huntinkev

I've shot them out of .270 and 7mm-08. Like someone else said, devastating. Most don't take another step, few have run very short distance...less than 30 yards.

bigtex

I use them in my .260, great terminal performance and very accurate in that rifle. Tried them in the .270 and was not impressed with the accuracy in that particular rifle. I could of probably worked up a load that would of been accurate but that rifle likes the Hornady spire points already.

ROVERBOY

I've meant to try these sometime but, haven't yet. My .308 shoots really good with 150 gr. Hornady Spirepoints. I've killed probably 25 deer over the years with them loaded behind Win. 748.

ROVERBOY

bigtex":11iykmfv said:
I use them in my .260, great terminal performance and very accurate in that rifle. Tried them in the .270 and was not impressed with the accuracy in that particular rifle. I could of probably worked up a load that would of been accurate but that rifle likes the Hornady spire points already.
I noticed you shoot a .260. That's a great caliber but, I don't know what happened to it. When it first came out, you couldn't pick up a gun magazine without seeing something about it. Now its unheard of. A shame.

bigtex

ROVERBOY":1csu9hf8 said:
bigtex":1csu9hf8 said: