Elk rifle

cecil30-30

I've got a hankering to buy a new rifle. Just can't settle on one. I'd like it to be for elk and mule deer if and when I get those hunts started. It's a good excuse to buy one. 😆 I want it to be in 300 win mag. I'd like to get one of the new Remington 700 cdl. But I can't decide if they are worth a flip or not. I keep seeing Bergara B-14 pop up in my search. I have no experience with bergara. I want one with a wood stock. Personal preference. The bergara has a 24 inch barrel. Would I be hurting myself with a 24 inch barreled 300 win mag?

cecil30-30

The bergara is just a 700, but better. 24" barrel is gonna be fine, not sure why'd you question that. I had a composite stock bergara in 300wm, and recoil was manageable without a break. Breaks are fine, until you finish off your hearing.
A few of the rifles I was looking at had 26 inch barrels. The bergara was the first one with anything other than a 26.inch.

BuckWild

Not much help on a 300 win mag, but when I was elk hunting in Idaho years ago, I went up there with my 7mmRem Mag and all the local guys I hunted with made fun of me for bringing an "Elephant gun" to hunt elk with.

All six of them used either .270 or 30.06 They spent double on optics what their rifle cost. They had been hunting elk for over 20 years. I was hunting with Pete one morning and he shot a dandy 6x6 with his 30.06 at 468 yards that we ranged with a Leica range finder. Went 40 yards after the shot.

I hunted with those guys for six years and they always picked on me for using that 7mm Rem mag. :D

Jcalder

A few of the rifles I was looking at had 26 inch barrels. The bergara was the first one with anything other than a 26.inch.
I have no idea what rifles you looked at, but you'll never notice any difference other than the 24" will carry and handle just a fuzz better. The shooting part is negligible.

Last edited:

Remi