Brisket Gurus?? Advice

Popcorn

2-Step Enabled
Cookeville, TN Cadiz, KY and random other places
I was given a brisket today, I am not experienced in challenging cuts and this one is way beyond me. The calf was a young bull that started showing aggression. I was told the steaks were very lean and tough but tasted good. This brisket is very thin and in 3 pieces. I have trimmed it to remove hard fat and a lot of very thin area. I have beat the hello out of it with a spiked tenderizer and it is dry brining in the fridge. I hope to smoke this tomorrow
Suggestions?
Pretty sure it's very tough.
Can I stack / layer the meat?
Should I start it lower than 220 and extend the cook
Or should I feed it to the dog and grill a burger?
It's against my nature to be wasteful but…

EastTNHunter

2-Step Enabled
I'm used to slow smoking briskets on the pellet smoker. Pounding and stacking and such is not something that I'm familiar with. But I would definitely say low and slow, and if it doesn't turn out well then it didn't cost you anything

Mud Creek

Not sure about tenderizing it. Its a tough cut that when smoked properly should be plenty juicy if everything renders.

I smoke mine around 275-300 spritzing with water occasionally. Wrap in butchers paper around 160s or when color is right. Bring to an internal temp of 200-205...The most important part:

LET.
IT.
REST.

After it comes off the smoker it gets wrapped in a towel and put into a cooler for a minimum of 1 hour before slicing and eating.

I have a 6# point on the smoker right now that someone gave to me.

Honestly its probably the easiest cut to smoke but also easy to screw up if you're not careful. Tough chewy brisket is nasty.

Last edited:

Popcorn

2-Step Enabled
Cookeville, TN Cadiz, KY and random other places