Best time to crappie fish?

Crow Terminator

People at work and on my Facebook page ask me quite often "when do the crappie start running". I can't help myself...."I dunno, I've never saw a crappie run...I've only saw them swim".

On Chickamauga they are starting to stage at the creek mouths and big bends. Same on the Hiwassee. But...I have been humbled by them many times where you go and catch a limit one day and then the next, can't find them anywhere, but the white and yellow bass have moved into the same area.

Iglow

I've always heard when the redbuds first start to bloom the fish are headed to the banks, and they are all there when the dogwoods bloom, so early to mid March to the end of April. Unless an unusual cold runs them off it's held true for as long as I can remember.

Urban_Hunter

I fished them pretty hard last spring, this fall, and this winter. I want to say winter is the best because I'm catching more now than the previous seasons, but also think I'm just learning them better. Biggest thing I've noticed is the spots that they've been on for the last two weeks may be empty tomorrow. A spot that usually produces a couple fish may fill your live well tomorrow and then never again. I went to chickamauga in march last year… it was the last time I caught a two man limit. Someone on here said something along the lines of 10% of the fisherman catch 90% of the fish. That man didn't lie lol

rsimms

You can catch crappie on Chickamauga 365 days a year! You simply have to adjust your locations and techniques to what the fish are doing.