7mm Mag Question Need Help

WilcoKen

I will start by saying I'm not a ballistics pro at all. I've used my Remington 7mm for 30 years. Most all the deer I've taken with it have had good blood trails if they didn't drop on the spot. But the last 2 years I've made well placed shots on 2 bucks (185 yd shots) that had very little or no blood at all. I found one of the two but not until it was too late. This evening was the 2nd buck and it looked like a good shot by reaction but when I got there zero blood whatsoever. Hopefully I will find him in the morning. Nevertheless I need to consider a new load. I shoot Remington Core Lokt 150 grain PSP. It's possible I was shooting a different load by Remington prior to this box I bought 2 years ago but I cannot recall what it was. Please let me know if there's a better option. Thanks

redblood

The advantage of the 7mm bullet is a high ballistic coefficient and more importantly a high sectional density. To reap the benefit of those factors, you will need to go to a heavier bullet. Another benefit of the heavier bullet 160 to 175 grain is slower speed, which allows bullets to keep their integrity better. Try a 165 gr bullet and i think u will be pleased

Skinnyindian

I have shot several rounds through my 7mm. I have settled on the Federal Premium "COPPER" rounds. If hose are unavailable the Hornady red tip ammo is my go too. I actually shoot the Copper in all my hunting rifles. I am not a ballistics guy I want expansion and penetration from a round not accuracy to 1000 yards. This is all my opinion. Good luck

chewymalone