100 or 150 grain for muzzleloader

David

So this is my first year muzzleloading. I bought a Thompson Center Omega .50 cal. All my buddies use 100 Grains of pyrodex and 300 grain bullet.

Is this a good combo?

Im just thinking if the gun maxes out at 150 grains of powder, why not max it out to make sure the fps is sufficient?

What do you guys think?

I put a nikon prostaff scope on it as well, so i know i SHOULDN't miss, just want to make sure there is enough ass on the shot.

Kevin B.

It's been my experience that each ML has a load that it prefers. It may or may not be a 300 grain bullet. It may or may not be 100 grains of pyrodex. My omega shot its best groups (sub moa at 100 yds) with 100 grains of triple seven (ffg) and 250 grain shockwave w/ supplied sabot. Killed 5 deer last year w/ this combo. Hope this helps.

jakeway

If your gun has a long enough barrel, you may be able to take advantage of all 150 grains. Diminishing returns usually sets in above 100 grains; the increase in powder fouling begins to outweigh the increase in velocity. Also, a lot of that powder leaves the barrel under-burned. Shoot it at dusk with 100 grains, then again with 150 and you should notice a lot more flames coming from the muzzle with the 150 grain.

To be sure, use your gun, try different loads, and if you have a chrony to check the velocity, that's great.

I shoot 110 gr loose 777 with a 300 grain Hornady XTP Mag.

breeze900rr

By all means do your "home work"! Shoot it with both. I have a CVA Optima Pro and use 100gr triple seven wit 260gr (I think) powerbelts. I'm much more accurate with 100 as opposed to 150gr.