Who Fletches Their Own Arrows???

CBU93

I need you guys that fletch your own arrows to help me out here. Need a list of the neccessities in order to do this myself. I am a total rookie at bow tuning, fletching, etc. but I want to learn to do more of this on my own. Any suggestions, lists, reccommendations would be greatly appreciated...

Starting with fletching my own arrows...

rldel

well you know I'd have to be different. I use a funny litte jig from Cabellas that lets me do right, straight, offset and left - three vanes at a time.

truth is I have it set for a slight offset and never change it but what the hey.. I do one at a time.

Vanes... I used duravanes because they were soft and would bend without taking a set (better than some brands) but if they stay bent out of shape for long period (like in a bow case in heat) they tend to take a set anyway.

when I moved to carbon shafts I switched to Blazer (2"). I get MTO carbons from Lancaster because their precision in a dozen is about +- 1.5 grains. I can't get them that close when I repair/refletch one.

carbons also take a Apple high-speed saw (which I don't have - another reason I MTO and repair only since going to Easton axis.

glue - fletchtite I think it is.

JayMc

I use a bitz for most of my arrows, but like rldel I've found that the Arizona EZ Fletch works well on the small arrows like Axis.

Good glue like Goat Tuff makes a difference too.

Biggest tip somebody gave me was to take my time so I'll pass that along.

I really enjoy fletching my own. My wife calls it arts and crafts for men :D

buckdead

dont they make the flethings that slide right on your arrow? Havent bow hunted in a couple years, but i think i seen a advertisment on TV you just slide it on and put it in hot water or something. looked fool proof. :)

onebuck

I also enjoy fletching my own. Here's a couple of pics of my rig. It's a Jo-Jan multifletcher I mounted on a portable cabinet I built for it.