Shooting in the Offseason

godores

Hey all,

I'm very new at all this, so I wanted to get some advice. We have 50 acres in Maury/Hickman that we are starting to manage for the first time next year. We are planning on a few food plots and some bedding areas.

Here is my dilemma. I am a gun nut and love shooting for sport, and I have a nice range built on the property. The range runs right across a proposed food plot and next to (within 100 yds) of a proposed bedding area.

If I only shoot from January to August, will the deer just leave and come back in September when the food plots kick in? Or if I'm only shooting once or twice a month for a few hours, will they return immediately? Would the backstop and targets on the edge of the food plot scare them away since it is so unnatural?

Just trying to figure out how to have my cake and eat it too! Thanks for the help.

Omega

I stop shooting at my place when archery kicks in unless I want to do archery that year, then it's a month prior. But, there have been a few times I have been target shooting and deer cross behind my targets, same at the Ft Campbell ranges, every now and then they have to call a cease fire due to wildlife. They seem to know when they are not being hunted.

younggun308

2-Step Enabled
I'd be inclined to think they care less the more frequently you shoot. Might be more disruptive if it's completely out of the blue.

godores

So use the land pretty freely in the off-season, but stay out of the sanctuary parts.. Even if you are running trucks and shooting guns right outside of it, is the walking through the sanctuary uniquely bad compared to making a racket right outside? Please forgive my ignorance!

JCDEERMAN

If you shoot enough, they will become accustomed to it. I remember seeing a deer that bedded on the side of the rifle range at Cheatham years ago. How much is "enough"? That's the question.

Lost Lake