Savage Axis II XP

VFLHunter

Ok guys im new to hunting and to his board so hoping to pick your brains a little bit to avoid unwise decisions in gearing up for my 1st deer season. Im looking for my rifle first and dont want to spend a ton of money until i know its something im going to be able to fully commit myself to. i am looking at a Savage Axis II XP 270 with scope. has anyone used this gun or would it be better to buy a rifle and a better scope. i know they dont put the best scopes on package guns

Thanks in advance--Chad

gtk

Staff member
bought the gun in .270 for my son.. Good shooting gun.. Scope that came on it was terrible at low light.. I replaced the trigger spring on his gun & put a travel stop on it, and the gun shoots great..

VFLHunter

Thanks, thats what i was afraid of with buying a package deal. May try and guy the gun without the scope and just put a reasonably priced scope on it

777rellik

Have one in 22-250 4x12x40 nikon..Killed 4 yotes and dozen deer so far.Boyd has some stocks to replace the weak factory stock. NEXT one will be 25-06 and thumble hole stock from Boyd stocks.

duckduck84

Wife got me one for my birthday a few weeks ago. I love it. Mine is in.308 though.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TeamMainStreet

I've got one in 22-250 also. I tightened the factory scope zeroed it and it's lights out. I guess the trigger could be a little better but I really haven't payed any attention to it. Can't go wrong IMO

TboneD

I know this is an old thread, but my nephew bought one in .308 and it doesn't group worth a crap. Just sayin', and I'm even a fan of Savage. My son has a Savage .270 and it shoots pretty good. However, it has a much better synthetic stock, so I suggested to my nephew that he invest in a Boyd's stock for his gun.

TboneD

catsbackr":uongk4is said:
Absolutely nothing wrong with a Savage Axis.