Food Plots Newbie food plot question

rtaylor

I just acquired some property that has TVA powerlines running through it that would be perfect for a food plot. My problem is I've never done one before. I'd like a nice deer plot and if possible something that I could shoot dove over also. I was thinking of getting it down to dirt and top sowing wheat. Right now it is head high black berries and briars. I know that I'll have to lime it and get a soil sample I'm just not sure of my steps from today until September when it appears people are planting. Any advice would be appreciated.

JCDEERMAN

What equipment do you have or have access to?

Wheat is easy to grow and will be a good one to start off with. May want to throw in some crimson clover which is also easy to grow. Both of these together will also give you a nice turkey hunting spot when spring arrives.

rtaylor

I have a 39 hp tractor with a bush hog and was going to get a disc. Should I go ahead and bush hog the briars down?

DoubleRidge

Powerlines can be great locations for food plots. We have a large TVA line going through our place and have several plot areas....I agree wheat and crimson clover would be a great fall planting that will green up nice.

But don't underestimate the native vegetation you already have....you have a tractor and bush hog so your we'll on your way.....find the natural travel corridors the deer are using and plan your bush hogging in those areas....bush hog lanes or strips this summer and the native grasses will green up and put on new growth... the deer will love it.....and then pick some spots to disk for wheat and clover as well.