Getting Meat Back From Hunt?

LanceS4803

I am thinking of a Bison hunt this year, but the only slot open is July, out West.
I have a couple of concerns:
What is going to be the best way to take care of the meat?
It will be butchered on site, but they want to cut, wrap and freee on the same day, with no opportunity to hang a few days. This way I can drive it home. They can let it hang, but then I will just be hanging around waiting, or else have to fly/drive back to pick it up.
As for getting it back, that is a lot of collers and dry ice!

Has anyone encountered this problem?
Are there commercial meat lockers in the Middle TN area that I can use to store the meat once home?

And just something else, bison hides are not the best in July. Something else to consider.

Buzzard Breath

I've got zero experience hunting, butchering, or freezing bison, so take this advice for what it's worth.

I'd have processed on the spot. I would think it would take weeks to effectively age bison. If you really wanted to do it, I would age the individual cuts in the fridge.

To get it home, I'd put a deep freeze on a trailer and either take a generator, or plug it in at the outfitters and hotel stop.

The meat and the skull is all I'd really worry about, but that's just me.

Crosshairy

I'm pretty sure the answer to this question involves a Yeti cooler somehow

:poke:

I've heard of folks using an old chest freezer as a cooler - it may take 2 big ones for a bison!

The July part would be tough. I'd be nervous about relying on a generator on a trailer for that long of a drive with the potential for high heat - be sure to put some kind of run indication on the freezer, or extend the wiring for one of those temperature alarms from the trailer all the way to the truck, so that you can monitor the refrigerator or freezer.