Dozer or Trackho???

megalomaniac

What about a big forestry mulcher. They are usually at $500-$700 per acre
Not even close to ideal to use as a stump grinder... will take forever. Plus, years later after the remaining stump below dirt level rots out, you will still have to come back through with either a dozer or a bog disc to smooth out all the potholes.

Last edited:

megalomaniac

That is massive. We pulled up smaller diameter trees and some of their root balls were the size of my truck.
Took us 2-3 hours just to pop one stump up angling blade to dig around it and break roots, etc. (but again, I'm NOT an expert). I thought it would have been easier since it was cut 3-4 years prior... If if was freshly cut, it would still prob be right in the middle of my plot and I'd be working around it :) In retrospect, I'm thinking a combo of excavator digging around to bust all the roots free, then popping it out with the dozer would have been easier.

tellico4x4

One of our guys has a 450 JD, plus he's a good operator . It sure is handy but you lose quite a bit of topsoil pushing stumps with it. If a lot to clear an excavator is way to go.

Mattt