Your opinion on broadheads....please.

HopALong

I have shot both fixed blade and mechanical broadheads and like both. I must say that I lean a little more toward the mechanicals since they do (in my opinion) shoot like a field point. My question is based around an opinion of an outfitter I'm considering booking a hunt with. They are strongly against all mechanical broadheads. When I asked why, he said that "they just don't do as good of a job as a fixed blade. I've been doing this for 12 years and I've only lost 3 deer to hunters shooting a fixed broadhead. I can't tell you the number of deer that have gone unrecovered or found much later on due to a mechanical broadhead failing. They either break the blades, deflect off of bones causing bad shot angles, or hit bones and just stop 3 inches into the deer. There's a BIG difference between shooting a mature bucks body (250 lbs. live +) and a doe or smaller buck."

Personally, I've never killed a "mature" whitetail much less a heavy bodied northern whitetail. Is this guy accurate or his opinion or is he way off base? I've also noticed on other outfitter websites, several of them have the same rule. Either way, if I choose his outfit, I'm committing to a fixed blade (not a huge deal to me).

Thanks

POSSUM HUNTER

his outfit and his opinion his law right

if i were you i would check on muzzys, slick tricks and spin test tham your self thats where you are flying different imo radar can prolly help you more

like the ad says muzzy is bad to the bone, and i have used them with great success

as far as the mechanical vs. fixed debate it is on going and never ending. wait for the right shoot angle and make sure that you can be comfortable shooting and hitting where you want bad shots are enevitable and will happen butt practice and be prepaired and you should do fine

good luck

Radar