Food Plots Summer plot FAIL

megalomaniac

Well, my plan for a summer food source plus haylage for cattle turned out to be a complete failure.

My blend with sudax planted end of May was just beginning to boot. We cut it a couple days ago... dried to 45% moisture (buckwheat included) and simply could not bale it for haylage... too dense and heavy, TOO much forage. I left out the sun hemp from this blend fearing it would be a problem, but the chest high sudax ended up being a bigger issue.

I talked to a couple farmers (I am NO expert when it comes to this) looking for suggestions for a summer crop that I can cut once just before fall planting in the future...

Best suggestion is leave out the sorgham/ Sudan, change to brown millet (finer stem than pearl millet) for next year.

Any of you (popcorn) have any other suggestions to mix with the beans, peas, sunflowers, buckwheat next year?

All is not a waste... all that insane biomass produced is going to be tettered/ scattered over the soil to decompose into topsoil... but it leaves me with nothing growing (unless the sudax regrows) until late Aug/ early Sept.

Or an alternative would be to chop instead of bale for silage?

JhnDeereMan

2-Step Enabled
Try sugar graze. It's a hybrid sorghum Sudan. Smaller stem with tremendous tonnage. Still in that $38 per bag range.
I won't lie. It's still hard on equipment but we cut one evening and bale the next and usually hit 50-55% moisture.
Are you running a silage baler or a high moisture kit in your baler?
We cut and baled last week as well and the fields housed a lot of fawns. I don't know that they were eating much but they sure used it for the cover.
Millet is a good option as well. I culti-pack my millet in and then drill about 15lbs per acre of soybeans in it the next day after seeding. This way the millet won't lodge as bad.

megalomaniac

Try sugar graze. It's a hybrid sorghum Sudan. Smaller stem with tremendous tonnage. Still in that $38 per bag range.