Smokin chicken questions

Travis E

Well my sister just gave me a smoker and I'm not the best of cooks. I can grill alright but have no idea about smokin stuff. Basically I want to know how to do this. I have some Jack daniels wood chips. Do I put them in the pan with the water (the smoker is propane powered)? I plan on smokin some chicken do I just throw it in there? How hot should it be and how long do I cook it? Also do I pu a rub on the chicken? If so do any of you have some good ones that are atleast semi-healthy? I'm new to this so be a little easy on this ol boy. Thanks for any advice and guidance.

mike243

there should be a cast iron box to hold the wood chips rite above the burner,water or apple juice goes into the pan,cover pan with foil to make clean up eaier.you can rub about any thing on chicken to season it.i use lemon papper a lot.takes about 4-5 hrs @ 225,refill wood chip box 2-3 times & the water pan will need 1 refill.have fun & remember smoked meat will look pink even when done,the skin can be crisped up on a gas grill ,mike243

mike243

ferg try the chunks instead of the chips,i dont soak them normaly & about 1-1.5 hrs of smoke per load of wood,only 2-3 loads are needed ,you can over load on the smoke taste if you try to make it smoke the entire time on a long cooking job,after 3-4 hrs the pores are sealed up most of the time so the smoke dosent make it more better :) mike243

Camp

Travis E said:
Well my chicken turned out ok but was a little dry. I used skinless boneless chicken breasts. I think next time I'll try to use chicken with skin and bone in.

I don't use a smoker but I do know that the skin helps seal in the juices. So the skinless would tend to become drier I'd think. Especially with breasts that don't have any fat on them.
:confused:

DntBrnDPig

I use whole chickens, and brining will help with the dry flavor. Or put some pads of butter underneath the skin above the breasts.