Shot size for cranes

AveryPC

I have a crane hunt this upcoming Saturday and wanted some opinions on shells. I am between regular steel 3-inch BB and Hevi-Hammer 3 inch #2. Which one of these will work best I have no experience hunting cranes.

TAFKAP

I've only ever shot 3" BB at them. For a bird that big, I wouldn't want to go smaller. If you can find it (and feel like spending the $40 for a box), I've had great success with the Blind Side ammo. I've been crane hunting 3 times, and have yet to shoot through my first box of Blind Side. Still have plenty of ammo for my 4th trip this season. I couldn't recommend it more highly

tnbucs1

#2 or bigger (1,s or BB) steel should be sufficient. I hunted this past weekend and used some 3 inch #4 Boss (Copper Plated) and it did the job.

AveryPC

Seems like BB's are the way to go. The only reason I thought 2s might be better is because it would give me a better chance at hitting them in the neck or the head, like turkey hunting.

TAFKAP

Seems like BB's are the way to go. The only reason I thought 2s might be better is because it would give me a better chance at hitting them in the neck or the head, like turkey hunting.

Aim for the tip of the beak and you'll be fine. The issue with cranes isn't hitting them in the head or the neck, it's trying to realize that the bird coming in at you isn't a football-sized duck at 15 yards....it's a 747 coming in hot and fast at 40 yards.

There was a perceptible enough time for me to think "Dang, I missed" when I brought down my first bird. It folded up and crashed to the ground after the thought crossed my mind. I stepped off a 55 yard distance to go pick it up. When I skinned it, there were two pellet holes in its neck, and one in its head. When I pulled the trigger, I felt like the bird was right in my face.

TAFKAP