Ribs/butts on Weber Kettle - Advice needed

TNRifleman

I just picked up my first Weber Kettle grill and am looking at doing some ribs or pick butts on it. I would like to slow cook/ smoke them and was wondering what you guys methods were. I am a real newbie at charcoal grills so step by step would be helpful. Thanks in advance.

FYI - grill is a 22" kettle grill so it has room for a water pan and charcoal/ wood chips.

mike243

Put a aluminum drip pan in the middle and build a small fire on either side or put it off to 1 side and fire on the other and then put vent on opposite side of fire where your foods going to be so the smoke gets drawn past it on the way out,Weber is the best grill out there imo :tu:

mike243

You can put water or apple juice in the drip pan to help keep things moist set temp with the bottom air vent and leave top open all the way

mike243

ribs depending on baby back 4-6 hrs at 225ish butts are 1 hr per pound at same but some like to run hotter 275 to build more bark,a remote thermometer is a great thing to have and affordable now.pulled pork 205 is what you want to reach,hickory chunks not chips and don't worry about soaking.I have been using hickory pellets in mine with a smoke tube just for grilling but chunks are easier to deal with when smoking

Mike Belt

I use a drip pan full of water in the center of the grill and bank my charcoal around it. I sear the meat over the grill, then stack it up over the pan for cooking, and then finish it off on the grill with barbeque sauce. Much of the time I wrap each rib in aluminum foil while over the pan. I add apple juice inside the aluminum foil packs and then continually baste it once it's taken out and placed back on the grill. Tender, juicy, and good!

Pennywise67