Qdm and cwd

tnanh

QDM as we know know it may have to change with cwd. 4 1/2 year old deer may be few and far between in some places. Even 3 1/2 year olds may become trophies. We may have to go back to just enjoying a huntable population instead of trophy hunting. There are still way too many hunters in this state whe so not know about cwd.

tnanh

I hope it never gets so bad that I quit. Talk to a lot of locals in middle Tennessee and they dont know about cwd at all and I am far from an expert. The last two deer I killed in Hardeman county on Jan 31. They were both young does and were not traveling together. Both tested positive. I can remember when I was a reenager hunting iin Perry county hunting for three or four days and being happy just to see a few deer. I hope
It doesnt get back to that but I feel certain we will see a much younger age class of bucks in the population.

Grnwing

My farm is in the CWD zone and I have plenty of good bucks roaming around, they are there because they have been passed up on. Hunters are still going to kill way more deer in the CWD zone then the disease itself. I have continued to hunt the same way i did before CWD was discovered in TN. Overtime, CWD will reduce the average age of the deer herd but you will still have old bucks that aren't infected. Reduced deer densities to below carrying capacity will help suppress the spread of CWD but also provide better conditions for the majority of non infected deer. One stat that you cannot find a lot of information on is the number of matures bucks per acre in a given population. I believe there are already very few 4.5+ year old bucks and when you start looking at breaking down deer densities by sex and age class you do not have a lot of mature deer

I think the biggest danger to the mature buck population is the hunter settling to shoot a buck they would not normally shoot by justifying that if he doesn't kill it, CWD wil. JMHO

tnanh