Prop vs jet motor…..

redblood

Ok. Trying to hear pros and cons. Im more of s stream fisherman and have a jon boat we use all the time on local
Rivers. Stones, duck and elk. Just run it with a big trolling motor. Problem is, there are large spances of prime water that we used to fish as a kid, but cant now due to all
The access points being closed off. So im considering a big river boat with super heavy welded aluminum hull and a 65 to 80 horse jet motor- side consolde. This boat would still be fine in lake or just buy a bass tracker and keeping using small john boat for lakes and try to longer river floats with it. Issue is, i know nothing about jet props. It appears this can run shoals, but are they reliable.considering either a havoc river rat or a bass tracker pro 170

Hduke86

I'm not a pro on a jet motor but I prefer center console up front. It's easier to "read" the river and navigate. I'd definitely go with a tunnel hull to get the jet foot tucked up instead of hanging down low. The thing with jets are they reduce power so a 60-80 hp power head will be in the 35-50 hp output real range. It's something to think about if you go big heavy river boat.

Out of your two choices would be hands down the river rat for the win

redblood

I'm not a pro on a jet motor but I prefer center console up front. It's easier to "read" the river and navigate. I'd definitely go with a tunnel hull to get the jet foot tucked up instead of hanging down low. The thing with jets are they reduce power so a 60-80 hp power head will be in the 35-50 hp output real range. It's something to think about if you go big heavy river boat.

Sand you across a shallow gravel bars.

scn

If you are primarily a river fisherman, the jet is pretty much the only way to go. You can run one on the lake, but they aren't as good as a prop boat. on the lake.