Mowing for doves?

hammer33

I have 3 small 1/2 to-1 ac plots planted in sunflowers/millet/sorghum/buckwheat and a heap of ragweed. How would you dove guys go about bush hogging it to provide the most/longest opportunity? This is my first year having a summer plot that could be used for doves. When should I plan on cutting it for opener?

Dodge Man

I have 3 small 1/2 to-1 ac plots planted in sunflowers/millet/sorghum/buckwheat and a heap of ragweed. How would you dove guys go about bush hogging it to provide the most/longest opportunity? This is my first year having a summer plot that could be used for doves. When should I plan on cutting it for opener?
Is everything green or starting to die? You might want to spray and kill some spots before you mow them.

hammer33

Sunflowers are done. Gold finches are having a ball with them. The rest of the plot is green, especially the ragweed ! :D
Plots are square. Main plot backs up to a fencerow on one side with a gravel farm road on the other with a 40 acre soybean field beyond. Right side is bordered by soybeans and the left side is a mowed grass patch where we park our farm implements. What pattern should I mow to maximize the small plot? I figure I will be sitting in the fence row under a tree facing out over the plot?

hammer33

I mowed one pass around the outside today. Looks like a lawn underneath. Tons of ragweed too so Im not optimistic that the plot will be worth much for doves. But Im a rookie so who knows.

Iglow

Sunflowers are done. Gold finches are having a ball with them. The rest of the plot is green, especially the ragweed ! :D
Plots are square. Main plot backs up to a fencerow on one side with a gravel farm road on the other with a 40 acre soybean field beyond. Right side is bordered by soybeans and the left side is a mowed grass patch where we park our farm implements. What pattern should I mow to maximize the small plot? I figure I will be sitting in the fence row under a tree facing out over the plot?