Merriams

AT Hiker

Sounds like you are going either outfitted and/or on some private property. I have no experience with it, except that every time I've been in Merriams country that is where all the birds have been.

Here are some things that are different that I think will help in how you think and plan.
-Those birds can travel and travel far
-The better shape and gear you have the better you can travel after them
-It can snow a foot in early May
-Those birds seem to gobble until midnight
-Use the late gobbling to help pinpoint your next am hunt
-coyote howler used to work to shock them at night
-The terrain can be tricky and difficult
-The tricky terrain can fool your hearing too, they might be a lot closer or further away than you think
-Use your eyeballs (binocs) before you make any major moves

Also, if you have the chance make sure you visit Devils Tower and as much of the Black Hills as you can, especially if you can get to SD. I remember exploring the Black Hills more than I do killing one of those Merriams.

Good luck!

AT Hiker

All good advice. The hunt is 3 days with an outfitter on private properties not far from Devil's Tower. We plan on doing a few days hiking and sight seeing in SD when I'm done hunting.
I have never not seen birds in that general area. I have not hunted either, but I have hunted on the SD/WY border. If the ranch is loaded with birds I would suggest spending the first day taking it all in and not shooting the first one in range. I suspect it will be epic hunting if you have the right property.

REN

be prepared to move and move often.

they gobble A LOT so dont get in the mindset like easterns where them answering your calls means they are coming. They seem to just gobble all day long and at anything.

Most of it is the same as any turkey but you will generally just have to cover a lot more ground with a lot less cover then your use to.

nwsg76

Enjoy day 1 and don't pull trigger till you are ready to be done.