Make a turkey call / How To video

catman529

I put this video together to show how I make tube calls with super cheap if not free materials.

Note that I am a novice and have only been turkey hunting once, haven't yet shot one, and have spent a few times in the woods on non-hunting trips practicing my calling skills with the real gobblers. So you can probably call a lot better with it than I can.

You can make almost any sound with a tube call which is another reason I like it so much. Clucks/putts are the easiest and in my opinion, kee kees are the most difficult.

If you're lucky it can even make an owl hoot or a weird predator howl of some sort.

Here's the video

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zhRHZfbTWNY

catman529

hopefully it doesn't spread in popularity...I like it this way.

Maybe I'll practice and try to master a wingbone call too, because I doubt many people use those either when you can just go buy a slate or box call at walmart and strike it easily to make a sound.

catman529

Yeah it was me, thanks man. I figured I got pretty good at it but was trying not to overestimate it. Still practicing too...the kee kee runs are hard but I got some good ones down tonight. Gonna try and make a wingbone next...without a wingbone until I shoot my first turkey.

Blount County Hunter

Yea no doubt your calling is plenty good enough to fool a turkey, now you got to focus on the little things to get him in range, but those wingbone calls are tricky to make, my dad made his on first try and it sounds great, but I doubt they turn out like his everytime, glad turkeys have 2 wings though, lol

catman529

Would you recommend the purr and clucks to get them in range? It worked on a flock of hens back in May this year when I went and stalked the flock across a cornfield and snuck up in front of them through the woods. They were so close I could have counted the wrinkles and feathers on their necks. Some purr and clucks seemed to keep them interested.

Blount County Hunter