H380 in 223

WestTN2288

So, it's right beside lever and cfe223 on the burn rate chart. These are 2 of my favorite powders for 70-something grain bullets in 223… why wouldn't h380 work nearly as well? Why only old load data for it?

Tenntrapper

Speer has it listed for 70g bullets...

IMG_20240309_195401.jpg

EastTNHunter

2-Step Enabled
I'd say that it is too slow or bulky to work well in the smaller casing, but I have never used it before personally. Probably why it will work with some of the heavies in 223/5.56. I know that it was designed by Hodgdon for the 22-250, but it also works well in 30-06 and several other larger volume rounds.

WestTN2288

Speer has it listed for 70g bullets...

View attachment 219025
Thank you! I don't have a Speer manual, so that's a big help

Adding: the more I look at it, the more I think those velocities add up closer to real life results I see vs the Hornady manual. Not particularly the actual velocity, but the ranking of them for sure

Remi

Thank you! I don't have a Speer manual, so that's a big help

Adding: the more I look at it, the more I think those velocities add up closer to real life results I see vs the Hornady manual. Not particularly the actual velocity, but the ranking of them for sure

Speer data

FredRog72

It's a fine ball powder similar to BLC-2 but very little load data out there for a .223. I'll look through my books tonight and see if anything pops. I'll take pics and post if I find anything.

FredRog72

I'd say that it is too slow or bulky to work well in the smaller casing, but I have never used it before personally. Probably why it will work with some of the heavies in 223/5.56. I know that it was designed by Hodgdon for the 22-250, but it also works well in 30-06 and several other larger volume rounds.
I agree it's too slow burning. Out of the mound of books and data I do have, nothing!

Tenntrapper