Gulf Shores fishing

Bone Collector

I am going to gulf shores at the end of this month. will be there from the afternoon of March 27 - March 31, so basically the 28-31. I was going to try to fish one day while we are there off the pier most likely, unless I should go somewhere else. Looking to try to catch a bull red, but basically whatever is biting.

what should I use as far as rigs, lures, etc.? I have very little experience saltwater fishing. Usually just buy squid and maybe some frozen mullet or cigar minnows and put them on the bottom. I may want to try lures too though, if it would be a good idea.

I know some places around here sell bucktails, and spoons for saltwater fishing, but I can probably get some stuff there too. I will have to buy bait and license, so I can see what they have. what other lures should I consider other than bucktails and spoons?

maddhatter82

2-Step Enabled
If they have repaired the pier, get a sabiki rig drop it out in the schools of bait. Catch them, put them on a circle hook through the back, cast them out and let them swim. Keep a few dead baits for when you see the schools of reds coming in. Hook up in the nose of the dead ones and fish like a swim bait in the schools 😉

Bone Collector

If they have repaired the pier, get a sabiki rig drop it out in the schools of bait. Catch them, put them on a circle hook through the back, cast them out and let them swim. Keep a few dead baits for when you see the schools of reds coming in. Hook up in the nose of the dead ones and fish like a swim bait in the schools 😉
It says it is open, but of course they have limited capacity due to covid... I think they are letting 200 people or so on the pier total.