Compost Question...

BlountArrow

I started keeping a compost bin last year early on and have it going just about all year. I throw my plant/veggie matter in there along with the horse and cow crap. This early spring/winter I had some very rich compost. It was an amazing thing to me as I have never done it before. It was very fine, had no odor to it - just amazing how all those things work together.

But, there is one problem. I have a blue million tomato plants sprouting from it anywhere I use it. Lord only knows how much viable tomato seed is in it. Literally I probably have 1000s and 1000s of volunteers growing anywhere I use it that I have to trim out. This might sound like a good problem but when I mixed in my compost as a seed starter and attempted to start my tomatoes, peppers, egg plants, etc it was near impossible to tell what was sprouting. For example, I ended up not getting a single egg plant to start because I picked the wrong sprout to keep when 10 or so started coming up in the same pod.

Is there any way to kill the viable seed in compost without "hurting" the nutrition of the compost?

DaveB

I know of no way to stop the seeds from germinating, why tomato seeds are so tough is beyond me. I have had similar problems with them but not as severe as yours. Anything that would kill the seeds I think will ruin the compost.

I guess one way would be to throw all your compost on your yard and mow down the mater's.

TAFKAP

I'm going off of ragged memory here, but I believe "true" composted compost has undergone the process where heat and gas byproducts of the micro-organisms is what kills all the viable plant matter. It sounds like you have very nutrient-heavy stuff, but perhaps not a true "compost" if it's sprouting its own crops.

DntBrnDPig

The heat cycle should have killed off those seeds I would have thought. Crazy.

Maybe just keep the compost 'cooking' for a little longer. Eventually all those seeds will germinate and die.

BlountArrow

TAFKAP said: