Benelli M2 20 gauge 24" or 26" input

REN

I am going to get an M2 20 gauge in the next few months when i can find a good deal on mine and sell my Franchi. I am torn on getting a 24 or 26" barrel though, i have heard people having issues with the 24" being very finicky with patterning which is a tad concerning. I would only be using it for turkey and dove hunting so was leaning to a 24" but it really will all come down to which one i find the best deal on.

anyway anyone have a 24" or have experience with one and have an opinion?

REN

yeah the 26" seems to be great all around and not as picky with ammo or chokes. I have a 26" SBE2 but i got it in that length due to duck hunting with it. I have heard some stories with 24" but those may just be exceptions not the norm.

Roost 1

Most Benelli's, because of the design if the receiver, are longer than the standard.. I am sure you already know this tho, I am not sure about the M2. I have no experience with one.... My SBE with 24" barrel is as long as any other 26" barrel shotgun, then you got the tube sticking out.. This why I would not want any longer barrel... Does the M2 have the raised rib like a super 90??

Uncle Jesse

I had a M1 20 gauge with a 26" barrel and a M2 with a 26. The short forearm on the M2 causes the barrel to stick up really high when using a sling over the shoulder. I'm thinking a M2 has a shorter forearm than the SBE2 but not for sure on that. Mine constantly hangs on limbs and such. Right or wrong, I'm wanting a 24" on my next one.

Also the newer 20 gauge M2's do not have grip tite. Another plus in my opinion. It turns yellow on my M2 when it gets wet.

Randy Wakeman did some patterning with his M2 20 24" barrel. I'll look for a link

REN

tickweed said:
26 much better for all around hunting.