Ar help?

Madbowh

I'm no ar expert or gunsmith. I bought this upper and want to take the front sight off. Can I take just the front sight off and keep the tan rail or get a new rail.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230922_102040_DuckDuckGo.jpg
    Screenshot_20230922_102040_DuckDuckGo.jpg
    40.7 KB · Views: 38

Specializedjon

I'm no ar expert or gunsmith. I bought this upper and want to take the front sight off. Can I take just the front sight off and keep the tan rail or get a new rail.
Why are you taking the A2 front sight off, just curious. I have a few AR's with them on and I run red dots and optics over the top of them just fine. I think they're a good, unbatteried <<<great word 😂, co-witness option should your optic of choice fail.

Again, just curious.

Madbowh

Mainly at the moment because I see it through my red dot. Up until a couple years ago I only wanted my open sights, but with this I've been wanting just the red dot. First day at the range with it my battery was dead so that could be an issue. I've not found a set up I can use open sights by looking under my red dot, is there an option for that?

On my 270 I've got a good Burris scope and still naturally go to my open sights up to 200
Why are you taking the A2 front sight off, just curious. I have a few AR's with them on and I run red dots and optics over the top of them just fine. I think they're a good, unbatteried <<<great word 😂, co-witness option should your optic of choice fail.

Again, just curious.

This gun will probably be going very long periods of time without any use, this is my home self defense I guess you could say. I don't want to spend a ton on it. My wife loved it at the range but ammo goes to fast.

Madbowh

We might have to really dumb this down, I'm horribly inexperienced with working on guns or parts. Gas block?