Trout license

catman529

Wow I've been fishing for 7+ years and never knew you needed a trout license...I've put $77 into fishing/hunting licenses this year and will have to renew in March, and I've already caught some trout as you can see in my previous thread, and found out I need this license which I don't have.

I was planning on going out tomorrow with a friend to catch some more trout but I guess we'll have to call that off. Is it worth the $18 to catch some more farm-raised corn-eating trout or should I just forget it and drop a chunk of fresh cut bait for a winter catfish instead? Bass fishing too is also more exciting than farm raised trout.

scn

catman529 said:
Wow I've been fishing for 7+ years and never knew you needed a trout license...I've put $77 into fishing/hunting licenses this year and will have to renew in March, and I've already caught some trout as you can see in my previous thread, and found out I need this license which I don't have.

I was planning on going out tomorrow with a friend to catch some more trout but I guess we'll have to call that off. Is it worth the $18 to catch some more farm-raised corn-eating trout or should I just forget it and drop a chunk of fresh cut bait for a winter catfish instead? Bass fishing too is also more exciting than farm raised trout.

Since you have already violated the law, the ethical thing to do would be to buy your required license whether you go back to fish or not.

TNCharlie

Catman, just in case you don't catch scn's drift, he is giving you very good information and a HUGE tip on how to avoid a problem here. You have publicly admitted to a mistake, but you can demonstrate that it was out of ignorance without intent to break any laws by getting that trout license now. Otherwise, you may have a difficult time explaining your actions to the proper officials.

Oh, and one more suggeston - pick up a Fishing Guide when the new ones come out and check it for info on the rules and regulations.

jb3