Ticks

scn

It looks like they are really bad this year. A couple of weekends ago, my wife and I went over to my hunting lease in Stewart Co. to replace a tarp over my trailer. I had on some pants that had been dipped multiple times, so they didn't bother me. Even after spraying down with permanone, they ate my wife up. I think she ended up picking nine off of her. Most were the tiny seed tick size.

Spraying heavy with the permithrin certainly helps. If you REALLY want to up your game, try some of these: https://rynoskin.com/

I have been using Rynoskin products for at least 15 years. I wear it every day during turkey season, and, anytime I know I am going to be around ticks for an extended period. It is basically a panty-hose type material that you wear as a base layer. They are selling it again in a camo version. Yes, it is a little hotter than not having it on. But, the mesh on the stuff is so fine that even the little seed ticks can't get through. Supposedly it helps with mosquitoes as well, but, I haven't tested it much against those.

It is on the pricey side. But, after losing one of my best friends to Rocky Mtn spotted fever, and several friends dealing with the alpha-gal syndrome where they can't eat red meat, the peace of mind is worth it to me. You can still get one off your hands, neck, etc where the base layer doesn't cover you, but, it is a pretty awesome shield.

TheLBLman

I have been using Rynoskin products for at least 15 years. . . . . . Supposedly it helps with mosquitoes as well, but, I haven't tested it much against those.
You can still get one off your hands, neck, etc where the base layer doesn't cover you, but, it is a pretty awesome shield.
I've also been using this a long time, and it absolutely does help with mosquitoes, especially if there is any other clothing layer on top of the Rynoskin.

It is also a significant help with yellowjackets. They will sting thru it, but they can't get as deep, and it does slow them down a bit.