Talking Mounting Dux?

spitndrum

I wanna hear from you guys about mounting birds, ya there expensive but I love the looks of em. What decides your mind to mount a duck? First duck? First banded duck? mostly any drake?

Whats your thoughts, I am a newbie and this year I'll be going on several hunts all across the state. Post em up if you have some mounted.

easy45

Got my first 2 I ever killed mounted, happened to be a green head and Susie, probably won't get anymore mounted unless it's something weird

rbreedi1

I don't have any mounted yet but I mainly look at how common the species is and just personal preference as far as looks.

Huffman

I mounted my first male widgeon, one of the prettiest birds in my opinion.
image-2.png

rukiddin

I have 10 mounted. I just got a specklebelly and a shoveler back from the taxi. Always wanted a pretty shoveler mounted and finally got one and I had never killed a speck.
The main reason? I just love waterfowl! If I don't have it mounted and I know I put the bird on the water, and its a good representation of the species (drake), then I'll consider having the bird mounted.

Just do me a favor and do your homework when looking for a good duck taxidermist. Nothing I hate worse than seeing a beautiful bird ruined by a taxidermist that has no clue about ducks!! Just because they do a good whitetail, does not mean they can do ducks/geese! My duck taxi lives 5 hours from me, but I have no doubts about the quality of the work when its finished!

rukiddin

spitndrum said:
who does yours keith?

I have a guy in Kernersville NC that does all my ducks.

I have heard good things about the duxrus guy, but just going by pictures I've seen, not all the quality seems to be consistent, but that could just be the pics.