Success with Cantaloupes, Watermelons?

Nimrod777

Just curious to see if anyone had either of those two melons dialed in. Several years ago, based on a Mother Earth News poll, I bought some Blacktail Mountain watermelon seeds, them being championed as one of the best tasting watermelons. Had soil lousy with clay in Chattanooga, but a couple small ones eked out an existence, and they sure were sweet and crisp. But they really didn't flourish.

I notice the soil here in Spring Hill, Middle TN, is much more porous and fine. Should I dedicate some space? My wife would love some cantaloupes growing here at the house.

wg24

I'm trying to grow Dixie queen and Georgia rattlesnake watermelons this year. It is my first attempt so I can't help you out with a success story. As far as dedicating space, melon plants do best when they can run freely so it is best to leave at least 6 feet between planting sites. What I'm trying is digging a small hole and filling it with planting soil to make a little hill every 6 feet along a fence on my property. Then I'll plant 3 plants in each hill and give them plenty of space. I figure with this method it wont take up my prime garden spots and I can still try them.

Remember if you want big melons, once you get a melon or two on a vine then clip off any future flowers so the whole plants nutrients go to the melon. The way I understand it is melon plants only can suck up so many nutrients so you either have 1 or 2 large melons or 10 ones the size of your fist.

WMAn

Nimrod,

It sounds like you are lucky and have native soil at your house in Spring Hill. I'm in a subdivision, and all I have is clay fill dirt. I've got a lot of soil improvement work to do over the next year as I start gardening.

Nimrod777