Smoking Venison

tnfirefighter

Ok guys Im a little confused about smoking meat, should I smoke it to a certain temp. or should I smoke it for a certain length of time. Also what temp do you smoke cuts of meat at? Everything I have read most venison is smoked at 200-225 degrees until an internal temp of 165.

nbforrest#3

I am smoking some tomorrow for about 4 hours on 225 and
then putting in the oven for a couple more at 250.

JimFromTN

nbforrest#3 said:
I am smoking some tomorrow for about 4 hours on 225 and
then putting in the oven for a couple more at 250.

This is exactly what I do except I wrap it in aluminum foil before putting it in the oven.

I butcher my own deer and save the whole shoulders and the neck roasts for smoking.

medwc

I'm finishing a small doe hindquarter right now. It has been in for 6 1/2 hours at 225 degrees. The meat probe is at 160 right now and it is stuck in the backside of the HQ at the thickest part. I am taking it out at 165. I am new at cooking with a smoker but am loving it so far. About 30 minutes ago I cut some meat off the side and it was AWSOME!!! The picky ol'wife even said that and she is picky about deer meat being to dry. It was/is really moist. I used a mixed recipe of injector in it till it was running out.

fishboy1

medwc said:
I'm finishing a small doe hindquarter right now. It has been in for 6 1/2 hours at 225 degrees. The meat probe is at 160 right now and it is stuck in the backside of the HQ at the thickest part. I am taking it out at 165. I am new at cooking with a smoker but am loving it so far. About 30 minutes ago I cut some meat off the side and it was AWSOME!!! The picky ol'wife even said that and she is picky about deer meat being to dry. It was/is really moist. I used a mixed recipe of injector in it till it was running out.