Saddle Hunting

bowhunterfanatic

I know there have been a ton of threads posted about this, but I haven't been too interested until here recently. This whole season and part of last season I've been carrying the same Summit climber in and out of the woods on almost every hunt. In years past even when I hunted from a climber I typically just left it on the tree because I have a plethora of stands. The reason a saddle never really piqued my interest is because I didn't like the thought of having to carry sticks in and out with me on every hunt, but now that I've gotten used to bringing the climber in and out I'm thinking a saddle would give me a lot more options and probably conceal me a little better as well. I'm not super concerned with cost as I'm a buy once cry once type of guy and plan on selling a few stands to help fund the purchase.
So, where does a total noob get started and what are some must haves?

morgancountry

Go to saddlehunter.com everything you could ever want to know is there. If you hunt trees that a climbable with a climber, look into the lone wolf hand climber seat to use as a platform.

ImThere

I'm not sure where your located but try to find someone close to you that saddle hunts and check out their gear.
you need a climbing method, something to stand on ring of steps or platform, saddle.
saddlehunter.com is the place for information

tree_ghost

Lots of advantages to using a saddle. It's not for everyone, but for some of us it's the golden standard...visit the sites mentioned above and prepare your wallet for a good pummeling!

PickettSFHunter

G2outdoors on YouTube is great. My climbing system is only about 4.5 pounds. I tend to use wild edge steps with a knaider/swaider the most but a lot of people aren't into that. Tethrd has 1 pound sticks now that should be available for next year. Everything is pretty pricey, I bet it took me $800 in gear to get going but I don't even use a climber anymore unless I have a