My Wyoming Antelope

bigtex

Finished my Antelope mount today and put him on the wall. This is the first Antelope mount i've ever attempted, challenging to say the least!! I did everything possible to keep the hair on this critter, had him field dressed and in a cooler within two hours after the shot, fully caped and in the freezer within 24 hrs. Still had some hair slippage problems. But overall i'm ok with the way he came out. Not a competition mount for sure, but hopefully i'll do better on the next one. Comments and criticism appreciated, i'm still learning.

Attachments

• P1010036.JPG
    P1010036.JPG
    25.2 KB · Views: 2,510

rolltide22

Mount looks good from my view. Can you give me some pointers in regards to fleshing and preserving the hide. I have watched a few "how to" dvd's on caping & fleshing. Any advice is appreciated.

bigtex

rolltide22":fc0ygxc2 said:
Mount looks good from my view. Can you give me some pointers in regards to fleshing and preserving the hide. I have watched a few "how to" dvd's on caping & fleshing. Any advice is appreciated.
Not much to it, you just need some very sharp knives or a fleshing machine. I took the middle of the road and use a "mini flesher" you still need to flesh around the face by hand though.
To me it's a little easier to flesh after the hide has been salted for 24 hrs or so. The salt draws a lot of the moisture out and kills some of the bacteria that can cause hair slippage.
After I preliminary flesh I turn the ears and lips then put it into a pickle solution for a few days, rinse and go over it again making sure I have every bit of flesh removed. Then back in the pickle for 12 hrs or so then tan it.