Muzzleloader Accuracy

Killing time

Thought i would share some info, as i have been muzzleloading for 14 years and had no idea !
There are no set standards in the muzzleloading industry as far as actual bore size. Just because your rifle says .50 cal, doesn't mean it measures .500 - it could be anywhere from .497 to .508. That doesn't seem like much, but it can affect accuracy in a big way.
The problem is bullet/sabot selection. If your bullet/sabot does not properly fit your bore ( too loose or too tight ), your accuracy will suffer. If your like me, i just bought the proper caliber bullet and grain weight that i wanted. And fortunately, ive had pretty good success at the range.
But i often see others talking about their muzzleloader not shooting accurately or consistent. May i make a suggestion- go to Guns and Shooting Online and read some of the dozens of articles on bullets, sabots, powder, etc. There are bullets/sabots made for specific rifle brands of rifle's that are listed there. It might help you get the most out of your rifle with a proper fit and make big improvements with accuracy.
I have a Knight MK-85, and have always put deer down with ease. I have used many different brands of bullets, and while they always preformed in the field, sometimes at the range i was not getting the groups i would have liked. And i didnt know why. But come next year, im going to make some changes according to the recommendations on the site, as far as bullet/sabot choice and powder, and see what happens.
Good luck. I hope i helped someone who is frustrated with their weapon.

ewc

I feel your pain...

40target.jpg

IMAG0047.jpg

ewc

Can I make a suggestion?

Do not point me to another website.

I can't help that you and they don't know how to make a muzzleloader shoot.

Mine shoot and I know why...

Thanks.

Trevor2

ewc said:
Can I make a suggestion?

Thanks.