Making your own maple syrup

vabuckbuster

Has anyone ever tapped the trees and went thru the process of making your own? Just wondering if it's worth all the work. THinking about buying a book and trying it out

LeatherLungz

I have thought about it. The cooking down part would challenge me. You need a really big flat pan about 3 or 4 ft square, maybe 4 inches deep.

I was always thinking I'd scorch it cause I have no experience with it.

But I sure prefer real maple syrup. All of this other stuff you buy now, heck it's all made out of corn fructose syrup, not even sugar :crazy:

vabuckbuster

Thats good info. I think I'll go a bit more modern then they did. For starters a cordless drill! THanks for the link Beekeeper. I'm really interested in trying it.

FULLDRAWXX75

Beekeeper said:
How many gallons of sapp does it take to make a gallon of syrup?

@ 40 gals of sap, yields 1 gal of syrup.

It is not as difficult as you would think, It is more time consuming than anything.

The biggest part is making sure the heat is consistent and the sap stays at a steady simmer, not a boil. You want to slowly remove the water content and render the sugary part.

the grade depends on the color, Light medium and dark.

I use a large SS pan (flat)@ 13x24 and do small batches.

FDXX75

bowriter

R.I.P.
My neice lives in Vermont. They do a lot of that surple stuff up there. She sends me a bunch every year.

So I am up there for a short visit and run into the guy on the liquor store. He is buying a case of bourbon. I say, "Having a party?"

"Noooo," he says, "boiling down."

Well I knew what he meant and I said, "I'm from down South. I'm a writer. Could I come watch?"

"Well, young fella, just follow me."

We drive out about six miles and here are all these guys wiping their nose on their sleeves. I joined them. Woke up on the ground several hours later. Neice was a tad ashamed of me.

Surple goes good with bourbon.

vabuckbuster