Invasiveness of Autumn Olive

PickettSFHunter

Just how invasive is it? Are we talking to the point of spread into the shaded woods or just open areas? Reason I ask is there is an reclaimed rock mine near my property that I have noticed autumn olive on but I havent noticed any spread outside that one open location and the deer and turkey love that spot.

MilkDud

I bought some olive trees, Russian, they have been banned in several states because they are so invasive. I bought them to make wind break. I've had them for 3 years now. They're about 4 foot tall and haven't spread any.

Bud Soda

Would you believe Our Forestry service (NCDFR) no longer carries Sawtooth Oaks because according to them, they are an non-native invasive species. Now they only want us to plant our native oaks. I have been ordering Sawtooths from them for the last ten years. This year I had to get them from http://www.advantageforestry.net/ Cost about the same but the trees that came from the NCDFR were two years old and alot bigger.

PickettSFHunter

Sawtooths arent outlawed. States and private nurseries still offer them. Some agencies are saying they are invasive though, but not outlawing the planting of them. I have 4 that are 3 years old and 20 that are 1 year old, Ill keep mine for sure and not worry about invasiveness lol

scn

captain hook said:
MilkDud said:
I bought some olive trees, Russian, they have been banned in several states because they are so invasive. I bought them to make wind break. I've had them for 3 years now. They're about 4 foot tall and haven't spread any.

Exactly, some pencil pusher somewhere freaked out because they are an exotic and was concerned about them invading. They made snap judgements and banned them before doing any thorough research. I will say if they were invasive it would be a nightmare species.