Help....What should I have done?

JDP

So this Sat I went out for my 1st coyote hunt by myself. Now I am a rookie to say the least. After about a 20 min stand of rabbit distress calls, I tried a hurt coy pup call and got them howling for about 3 mins. But didn't get a visual on any yotes. I was set up in a line of trees between 2 open fields with woods and a big thick overgrown field they sounded like they were in the corner of some hardwoods in a cross wind, I don't think they caught my scent unless they circled down alot further afer they were howling.
I stayed there for another 15 mins or so. Should I have stayed there and called more with the pup call or was moving like I did a better choice. I went up a bit past where I thought they would be and tried getting behind them. I set up there in another field with some more open hardwoods between where I set up the beginning of the morning. I didn't get any reaction after moving.

MRUTVOL

Not seeing the type area you were at and your set up it is hard to say but IMO you may have over called. I usually just start with a 5 minute session or less just to see if any are close by. If they are and are interested you will know it real quick. If no response then I give it a good hard session for another 5 mins or so and then sit and wait about 10 mins. If I have a large field of view and anything is interested then you should see it in the first 15 to 20 mins. Of course if the view is limited you just can not be sure if they were coming or not. Some times they will just freeze up and not come in. What I would have done when they howled back is gave them a howl and couple barks back and maybe hit the pup stress again. No guarantee that works but sometimes you have to do things a little unconventional and mix it up. Curosity sometimes can get the best of a yote. Like Redblood said I would wait a couple weeks and try again. Good Luck

Yotehntr