Dialing in a load for my new gun

gatodoc

Attachments

• FkRasfl7REafxIGvtp6rhA.jpg
    FkRasfl7REafxIGvtp6rhA.jpg
    50.9 KB · Views: 2,069

gatodoc

I haven't tried any Match factory yet. I just wanted to see what I could do with a hunting set up. I've never been to a match or shot a match gun but I'd like to learn more about it.

My wife says I need a few more hobbies to keep myself out of her way....:)

This was my first attempt at hand loading and going up in .3 gr increments. I was amazed at the way the groups tightened up at 41.6. I shot the 200 yard just as it started to rain and I couldn't see my holes very well until I pulled the target. Didn't have the spotting scope and was just fooling around.

When I saw it I came home and loaded some more at 41.6 and some at 41.8 to see what happens. As I said. I'm a total novice at reloading but trying to learn. I just try different things in my guns to see how they shoot. If I miss in the field I want it to be "me" not the equipment....

DaveB

G-One of the joys of hand loading is building that perfect recipe for a given rifle.

Congratulations on a great start.

Your target says IMR4350, that correct? Amazing how that powder performs.

Primer?

fairchaser

gatodoc":1jpdno70 said:
I haven't tried any Match factory yet. I just wanted to see what I could do with a hunting set up. I've never been to a match or shot a match gun but I'd like to learn more about it.

My wife says I need a few more hobbies to keep myself out of her way....:)

This was my first attempt at hand loading and going up in .3 gr increments. I was amazed at the way the groups tightened up at 41.6. I shot the 200 yard just as it started to rain and I couldn't see my holes very well until I pulled the target. Didn't have the spotting scope and was just fooling around.